Farook College (AUTONOMOUS)
PO. Farook College, Kozhikode, Kerala


Prof. Amit Shovon Ray, Director, Centre for Development Studies, Inaugurates The Second Annual Conference of Kerala Economic Association (KEA) from 27 to 29 May 2016, hosted by the Department of Economics, Farook College

 Second Annual Conference of Kerala Economic Association (KEA) 27-29/05/16

Department of Economics hosted the Second Annual Conference of Kerala Economic Association (KEA) from 27 to 29 May 2016. The conference was inaugurated by Prof. Amit Shovon Ray on 27th May. Principal Prof.  E. P. Imbichikoya delivered the welcome speech and Prof S. Irudaya Rajan, President KEA delivered the presidential address. Dr. Anilkumar Thakur (Secretrary of IEA), Jb K.V Kunjahammed Koya (Chairman of RUA), Adv M Muhammed (Manager Farook College) and Professor Dr. T.P. Ahammed (Syndicate Member) felicitated the occasion.

 The three day conference included 4 plenary sessions and 6 technical sessions. The topics of plenary sessions were Kerala Economy at the Cross Roads, Impact of Migration on the Elderly, Migration and Kerala Economy and Climate Change and Kerala Economy. The main speakers in the plenary sessions were Dr. B.A Prakash (Chairman, 5th Finance Commison, Kerala), Prof. Pulapre Balakrishnan (Ashoka University), Prof. K.J Joseph (CDS) Prof. D, Narayana (Consultant, Kerala State Planning Board), Prof. S Irudaya Rajan, Bharthi Birla (ILO), Prof. K.S James (JNU), Prof. U.S Misra (CDS), Prof. Amit Bharadwaj (IOM, Delhi), Dr. Vinoj Abraham (CDS), Dr. G.M Pillai (WISE, Pune), Prof. Kavikumar (MSE, Chennai), and Dr. Shailendra Yashwant (Climate Action Network).  

 The conference was attended by faculty members, research scholars and students of various universities and colleges all over India. On 29th may the valedictory address was delivered by Prof. K.N Harilal. In the valedictory session media award was presented to John Mundakayam, Bureau Chief of Malayala Manorama for his contributions to general articles related to Economics.